Call 214-793-3133

The Light Crust Doughboys

The Light Crust Doughboys

Music: Country & western, blues, jazz, pop, gospel and more

The Light Crust Doughboys are a legendary swing band formed in 1931 by Texas fiddler Bob Wills, vocalist Milton Brown and Herman Arnspiger on guitar.  Originally the band was on a morning radio show sponsored by the makers of Light Crust Flour.  The general manager of the flour company and soon-to-be announcer of the band was W. Lee "Pappy" O' Daniel who went on to become Governor of Texas and a United States Senator.

The original Light Crust Doughboys are credited with the creation of the western swing style of music, which blends a wide range of musical repertoire including country, blues, jazz, pop, gospel and more. The famous opening words, "The Light Crust Doughboys are on the air!", are still used to this day to open all concerts by the The Light Crust Doughboys. The band today enjoys a faithful worldwide following that spans four generations of music lovers.

Current members of the band are Art Greenhaw, bass, guitar and vocals; Maurice Anderson, steel guitar; Dale Cook, drums and vocals; Jim Baker, fiddle and vocals; Kevin Bailey, guitar and vocals and Teresa Anderson, vocals.  Guest appearances are occasionally made by Doughboy legends Jerry Elliott and John Walden.



Music Samples

Yellow Rose of Texas


It's No Sin To Rock